Specialized Allez 2014 vs Giant Defy 5 2014 vs Trek 1.1 2014

chriskyam
chriskyam Posts: 3
edited November 2014 in Road buying advice
Hey guys, I'm new to road bikes, but I have been cycling mountain and bmx for at least 3 years +, now I'm finally getting my first road bike this weekend. I do have a budget around 550, after some extensive research, I have concluded that the following bikes seem to be best for their prices.

Specialized Allez 2014
Giant Defy 5 2014
Trek 1.1 2014

As of Trek 1.1 2014, it has carbon forks and therefore I wanted to know if it makes a significant difference at a entry beginner level in road biking and how it compares to the other two. The problem now is deciding which one to get.

Comments

• Chris87
    Chris87 Posts: 224
    I was in a similar position with switching back to a road bike about 5 years ago.

The main thing to do is make sure you test ride all three. I was choosing between the trek 1.1 and the allez and ended up going with the trek as it felt the better fit. Was very happy with the choice and I still have it as my winter trainer, I upgraded the groupset and wheels over the years and its been brilliant.

Interestingly I've just bought a brand new Giant TCR Advanced Pro 2, which is very different in fit and feel to my old trek but so far I'm loving it! Considering the Defy is a more relaxed fit and gets such good reviews this would definitely make a good first road bike.

I wouldn't worry too much about the carbon forks, at that price level they will be a nice addition but not a game changer (my trek didn't have them, the Allez did, didn't really notice any difference)

Also bear in mind the innevitability of wanting a newer/shinier/lighter/"faster"/tastier bike after a few months.......
  • Thanks that was extremely helpful!