Winter clothing so expensive

redrabbit
redrabbit Posts: 93
edited November 2014 in Road general
I'm an amateur rider and haven't ridden since the summer. I'm keen to get out for short 20 mile rides over the winter.

The weather puts me of as I know I will be freezing.

I have bib shorts And can wear my cycle leggings over the top to keep warm
I can also wear two pairs of socks to keep feet warm

However I don't have Any tops, windbreaker, skull caps, snoods or thermal gloves.
I also don't have lights - well I do on MTB but not on road.

I looked at wiggle and the clothing just looks quite expensive.

Is there alternatives? Maybe I should wait till after Christmas for the sales?

Comments

• There's loads of inexpensive stuff out there. You've got leggings, any hat would do but you can find fleece hats for a couple of quid. If you've got a light fleece or sweatshirt you can get a cheap windproof to go over the top. http://www.decathlon.co.uk/700-ultralig ... 83388.html
    For 20 mile rides you don't need the most expensive, probably the only real cycling specific thing that would make life a lot more bearable in the cold would be overshoes.
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Keep your eyes open for the Aldi bike kit deals, the winter jackets they sell are excellent for £16 although they are a little heavier than the more expensive options. I have 2 and have worn them at -5 with just a base layer.

TBH they are so warm that I didn't need to wear them much with the milder winter we had last year as my lighter autumn/winter kit was sufficient.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    There are things you can pick up cheap all year round.
    Keep a lookout for winter stuff all spring/summer, thats about the best way IMO.

You tend to get what you pay for, but if you get 70%+ off you are not paying very much.