Awful front brakes!

notamondayfan
notamondayfan Posts: 22
edited November 2014 in The workshop
Hello all!

First post, but love the site!

I have been commuting for a few months now, and the bike is OK, but the front brakes are truly awful!

The bike is a mountain bike, front suspension, front disc frame, and all I've done is put some skinny tyres on her, and changed the caliper as the last one was jamming on.

I changed it to a mechanical Avid BB5 caliper and disc, and put a new cable in too. I've never been impressed with the caliper, the braking power is pants, by rear V brake is much much better, and recently the front brake is almost none existant, so much so that if I pull on the lever any more I'm going to damage either the caliper or the handle.

There's plenty of wear on the pads, so that's OK, and I'm sure the caliper is set-up fine, but I don't know what to look for or change.

I don't have a lot of spare cash (hence why I haven't bought a road / hybrid bike), so before spending out, I'd like to hear if anyone has any suggestions!

The only alternative I can think of is to ditch the front forks, change to ridgid forks with v brakes. To be honest if I could do this on a tight budget I would, but wouldn't know where to start with as to sourcing parts, and compatibility. I've lost all faith it disc brakes, perhaps I'm not spending enough, but I could buy a 6 pot brake caliper for a car for the price of a mid-range bike caliper!

Anyway, if anyone can help it would be really appreciated!

Thanks,
Dean

Comments

• CitizenLee
    CitizenLee Posts: 2,227
    To be fair, Avid mechanical disc brakes are poor even when working at their best. In fact, even Avid hydro discs are a bit rubbish. I wouldn't let the bad experience you've had with the BB5 sully your opinion on discs in general.

Shimano Deore M615 is only £38.99 per brake, which is great value for the excellent performance they offer.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/shim ... prod108802
    Current: