So lets see if I've learned anything.....

mikej1962
mikej1962 Posts: 15
edited November 2014 in Road buying advice
Total newbie to the road bike game. All these numbers you folk use, it's just incredible! My main hobby is photography and I wish I could throw something back at you and see how you get on :)

So, I've set my budget. Done loads of reading, asked a few questions etc etc. and I've decided to go for the Ribble Shimano 5800 11spd Sportive Racing. I'll be happy with that for my needs.

It's got the new 5800 groupset ! yeah! ( never heard of the word up to 5 days ago....), and a RS500 172.5 34/50 compact chainset, and I decided to go for the 11-32 cassette. Presumably this gives me a wider gear ratio ???? Not more gears, but a wider range yeh?

The next item on the selection process is the thing that really bamboozled me. The rear gear, SS or GS?
So, the description says SS for 23-28T and GS for 28-32T.

So I guess T is for teeth.

I would therefor need to go for the GS gear???

Correct?

Thanks again to anyone who takes the time to reply.

Comments

• Correct you will need the GS rear derailleur with the 32 tooth cassette.
  • Yup, sounds about right- 5800 refers to the generation of Shimano 105 groupset, this case being the latest, and it does indeed have 11 cogs on the rear wheel making it an '11speed' groupset.

The 11-32T cassette means the smallest cog (highest gearing) on the back is 11T, which is the smallest you can go, and the largest cog which determines your lowest gear (higher no. of teeth gives a lower gearing) has 32T, which seems to be the biggest you can go for road bikes at the moment, and with a compact chainset on the front (34T inner and 50T outer) you'll be able to both grind up walls and blast down mountains, plus anything in between.