New tyres for my winter bike

Dippydog3
Dippydog3 Posts: 414
edited November 2014 in Road buying advice
My new winter bike came with Specialized Roubaix Pro 700x30/32c tyres.

I have never used these before, but as they were bundled I thought I would give them a try. Very comfortable, and quick enough for what I want.

However, after a couple of punctures today I am thinking they are really perhpas not quite tough enough for my local roads. So I am looking for recommendations for a change.

The bike is ridden on winter roads, and the occasional firm gravel cycle track. So, nothing with big tread is needed.
And, I dont fancy Gatorskins.

Comments

• Vittoria Randonneur PRO 32, they are actually 29 once fitted... I ran two sets... around 8,000 miles thus far and only one screw managed to give me a flat. Highly recommended
    left the forum March 2023
  • Vittoria Randonneur PRO 32, they are actually 29 once fitted... I ran two sets... around 8,000 miles thus far and only one screw managed to give me a flat. Highly recommended
    Thanks. I had those on my hybrid and they seemed good. Didnt really think of them for the road bike, but they may fit the bill.
  • Dippydog3 wrote:
    Vittoria Randonneur PRO 32, they are actually 29 once fitted... I ran two sets... around 8,000 miles thus far and only one screw managed to give me a flat. Highly recommended
    Thanks. I had those on my hybrid and they seemed good. Didnt really think of them for the road bike, but they may fit the bill.

They are not the lightest tyres, but last year I nearly snatched a gold standard at the Etape Cymru on those... if they fit, they're the best winter tyres
  • LegendLust
    LegendLust Posts: 1,022
    Schwalbe Duranos are very good winter tyres too
  • g00se
    g00se Posts: 2,221
    These look interesting, may give them a go this year.

http://road.cc/content/review/135369-pa ... king-tyres