Tyres

garry smith
garry smith Posts: 8
edited December 2014 in Road beginners
Hi Guys,

This is my 1st post. Im new to road biking and just bought a 2nd hand Boardman Team Carbon.

Im looking to change the stock tyres for something more durable/puncture resistant. Think im gonna go with the Conti Gatorskins but im not sure if i should stick to 23c or go for the 25c. Should i buy the 23s or 25s ???Is there much difference in speed ??? Ill only be doing dry miles

Thanks

Comments

• ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    I would say definitely go for 25s. Roll just as well if not better than 23s. I've had Conit Gatorskins on my Audax bike for years and I find them a great tyre.
  • rc856
    rc856 Posts: 1,144
    25's for me too.
    If you read about a bit, you might find a lot of folk are using 25's all year round.
    I've used Gatorskins without any major issues but I've read of others saying the wet grip wasn't as great.
    I'm still using my GP4000s 25's on my winter bike.
  • rafletcher
    rafletcher Posts: 1,235
    edited November 2014
    If you're only doing dry miles, why go for sonething as tough - and with such a firm ride - as Gatorskins? They can be a bugger to get off and on when you have a puncture. Schwalbe Durano plus or GP 4 seasons are pretty good and easier to handle.

Edit: 25mm or even 28mm would be my choice.
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    I also use GP 4 seasons but only buy them in the sales. 23mm v 25mm is more down to personal preference than speed. I use 23mm more out of habit as they feel fine to me.
  • OK, thanks guys. Will deffo get the 25s
  • rafletcher wrote:
    If you're only doing dry miles, why go for sonething as tough - and with such a firm ride - as Gatorskins? They can be a bugger to get off and on when you have a puncture. Schwalbe Durano plus or GP 4 seasons are pretty good and easier to handle.

Edit: 25mm or even 28mm would be my choice.