Which tyre for muddy bridleways and CX

roubaixtom
roubaixtom Posts: 316
edited November 2014 in Cyclocross
Hi,

Im new to cyclocross picking up my first CX bike at the weekend. First thing i will be doing is upgrading the tyres. What tyres would be best for bridle ways and some CX events with a bit of road as well. For using it as a winter road bike i will use Gatorskins.

Any help would be great

Thanks

Comments

• Chris James
    Chris James Posts: 1,040
    Good mud shedding tyres aren't cheap and tend to wear out on roads. If I were you I would buy more than one set of tyres.

Something like Schwalbe Land Cruisers for bridleways and road general use. They are cheap and tough as old boots, and roll reasonably on the roads. They always use to be the 3 peaks tyre of choice for those reasons. .

For actual cyclocross racing then they wouldn't be great at shifting mud though. Small Block 8s roll well, but clog up badly in mud as the gaps between the blocks are small.

Either get a pair of all rounders like Michelin mud2s or race the land cruisers in the drier conditions and go for some proper mud tyres like Challenge Limus or Clement PDX (both of these are quite expensive for occasional use though).
  • tgotb
    tgotb Posts: 4,714
    I'd go for something with a Grifo-like tread, for instance Vittoria XG Pro. Pretty low rolling resistance on road at 50psi, but drop them to 30psi and you have a competitive intermediate race tyre. It won't be quite as good as something like a Clement PDX when it gets really slippery, but if you're only going to have one set it's probably the best bet. A PDX or Limus won't be that much fun on tarmac, and won't last very long either...
    Pannier, 120rpm.
  • cjcp
    cjcp Posts: 13,345
    I've used Mud2s are a good compromise, but, as i found out last weekend, come up a bit short in the really muddy stuff. They've been great for me on wet trails with loose gravel and on the road.
    FCN 2-4.