Cwmcarn trails - both red. How difficult are they?

Natofade
Natofade Posts: 19
edited November 2014 in Routes
So with Cwmcarn being basically on my doorstep, but being a relative novice, I'm a little concerned by the rating of the two runs there. According to the signage, both trails are rated difficult. I've seen a few discussions regarding difficulty ratings around the country not being uniform since joining up, and wondered if any experienced locals could give me an idea of what to expect. From watching some GoPro-type stuff on YouTube from the trails it seems to me like the Twrch trail contains more for the less experienced rider, but I obviously don't want to misinterpret what I'm seeing on screen, and end up somewhere I'm likely to come a cropper so soon after taking up the sport! On the flip side of that, I don't want to just be riding the canal for the rest of my days!

All advice and insights gratefully appreciated!

Comments

• craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    I did once take a complete novice on Twrch - we bailed after a very short section where we discovered he couldn't maintain a straight enough line to slowly follow the trail.

If you ride within your abilities you'll be fine, there's nothing you can't just slow down for and get off if necessary. The new trail is a bit easier IMHO.

You could try the blue trail at FoD (Verderers) if you want something to test your skills?
  • Ive not seen a go pro vid yet that gives any real indication of slope gradient.
  • welshkev
    welshkev Posts: 9,690
    It depends how you define novice. If you're physically fit then you'll be fine. the climbs on twrch and cafall are both tough. The descents are great fun, but if there's sections you don't feel comfortable on, just go slow and stop if you need too. Nothing is too steep that you can't do that.
  • welshkev wrote: