105 gear probs

moggy12
moggy12 Posts: 109
edited November 2014 in Workshop
just bought used planet x pro carbon with ten speed 105 gears went out a couple of days ago all fine went out today all rear gears fine but front derailleur will not change down from big front ring to smaller ring when pressing on left gear to change front to smaller chainring nothing happens checked tension of cable to front derailleur all seems fine lubed inside hood and gear cables but still no luck this is my first road bike any ideas please ps the little front lever under hood does move but no action on moving cable thanks

Comments

• me-109
    me-109 Posts: 1,915
    I suspect it is just the cable has pulled through the clamp on the front mech and needs resetting.
  • moggy12
    Hi thanks for the info is this a easy fix ? or will bike need to be taken to shop ? if easy fix any links to videos etc to show how its done ? as i'm new to road bikes thanks again
  • arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    moggy12 wrote:
    Hi thanks for the info is this a easy fix ? or will bike need to be taken to shop ? if easy fix any links to videos etc to show how its done ? as i'm new to road bikes thanks again

Have a look at this video. Gives you the basics for FD set-up

http://roadcyclinguk.com/how-to/mainten ... lleur.html

However before you tackle the set-up I would do a detailed check of your cabling to make sure you don't have any frayed ends that are causing the inner to stick. That would lead to the problems you describe with the FD not returning to the small ring when the STI lever is activated. The FD spring should default to the small ring so if it's not doing that then it sounds like the inner cable is stuck somewhere
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,717
    As in the post above the spring should pull it back onto the little ring, so it's not that the cable has slipped in the clamp. Follow the video so you can see how it all works.