Tyre advise - slate doesn't like me!

Babbage
Babbage Posts: 5
edited November 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hi there all,

I live in Leicester, and was up at Switherland woods giving it its first real run around at the weekend. There's quite a bit of slate up there. As my tyre found out when it was literally ripped in half.

I'm new to mountain biking - seems to be a rather large world of tyres out there and I'm already confused at what to replace with.

I need to get a replacement but I am wondering if the tyres that come with the bike are the best choice for replacements...

Voodoo bizango - Maxxis Ardent 29x2.25 tyre w/ Wire Bead

I tend to use a bike for anything and everything - road/pavement/bmx track/muddy fields/woodland/slate laden switherland woods/will be hitting Cannock chase soon

Does anyone have any recommendations please? Or just get some more of what I had!

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    If you are cutting through the sidewalls you either need a heavier duty tyre with tougher/thicker sidewalls or to ride in such a way that it reduces the risk, the Ardents don't have a particularly vulnerable sidewall (not like my lightweight Schwalbe Ron/Ralphs for sure!)

Most decent tyres work well at Cannock as most the surface is compacted pebbles, so it's mostly down to a decent compound to get grip (Schwalbe EVO, Conti Black Chilli etc).
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Went through the sidewall and main face of tyre :/
  • I understand you can get Kevlar reinforced tyres too - I don't know that helps much!
  • You can get dual ply and chamber tyres - they will help! But like everything in bikes it's all a trade off to weight.
  • The Rookie
    Babbage wrote:
    I understand you can get Kevlar reinforced tyres too - I don't know that helps much!