VCUK Lifetime Membership + Free Jersey: Too good to be true?

FionaBiker
FionaBiker Posts: 7
edited November 2014 in Road beginners
Hi,
I'm new to road cycling but I'm looking to get into it in a big way. After spending many years commuting on a hybrid I have finally taken the plunge and bought a basic road bike - I don't want the "all the gear, no idea" tagline!

I've just spotted this 'lifetime membership' to VeloClub UK. Copied from the site:
"Nationwide Development team VeloClub UK (VCUK) aims to provide a natural and steady progression from Grass Roots to Gold Medals. It only cost £25 for a lifetime membership and you'll receive a FREE Team Jersey worth £45 in your chosen size/fit.

£25 for a 'Champion System' jersey plus a membership sounds great, the jersey design IMO looks amazing too :lol:
I don't really fancy joining my local club just yet as I really would stand out like a sore thumb :oops: .

Is this VeloClub UK offer too good to be true? I've read all the site and can't see a catch. I could just sign up and get the jersey for £25!! Then join my local club later on.

hmmm what do you guys think? :roll: They seem to have helped Nicole Cooke, Adam and Simon Yates when they were called 'maxgear racing team'

Here's the site : http://www.veloclubuk.com/#!about-vcuk/cnyw

Thanks
Fi

Comments

• Here's the Ladies Kit :D:D:D858f2c_6728ce9124194132bc297a9b7c521c3d.gif_srz_472_719_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_gif_srz

and Mens Kit
    858f2c_b56fe3aeabd94e859cd02650bea23585.gif_srz_472_719_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_gif_srz
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    edited November 2014
    TBH I would just buy the jersey you want and not bother with this offer unless you are thinking of development for racing etc, just my opinion.
    Don't be scared about joining a club if that's your thing, good clubs should cater for all ranges of cyclist.
    Enjoy your riding. :)
  • Hi,