Brake Pads

BIGBOSS78659
BIGBOSS78659 Posts: 61
edited November 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, I'm new to this new forum.
I purchased new brakes for my bike a couple of months ago. The brake performance was excellent. However now, the braking performance is awful. I think it's the brake pads.
The new brakes are called Artek. I have included some images of the brake pads so far.
Please could you tell me what do i need to do so i can get my brake performance back to normal
Thanks

Comments

• Get new pads
  • Antm81
    Antm81 Posts: 1,406
    Have you advanced the pads since you've had the brakes? Mechanical pads don't adjust themselves as they wear so the pads need moving closer to the disc.
  • These are Hydraulic disc brakes. So i don't understand. I though maybe i should ask someone if the brake pads need replacing or something else needs replacing. So the pads need replacing right
  • Antm81
    That first picture shows the inner of the cable being clamped after coming from the outer not a hydraulic hose.
  • I don't understand. I'm not experts on bikes. The reason i uploaded that picture to show how the cable was clamped. The reason it is fully clamped is that so my brakes sort of work. However when i purchased this i did not have to do this. The brake performance was excellent. So therefore do you recommend me getting new disc brake pads. Do you know which replacement brake pads do i need to purchase and if you could please give me a link.
    Thanks
  • swod1
    swod1 Posts: 1,639
    sounds like the pads have got contaminated but more likely you need to adjust the cable on the caliper its probably stretched like a gear cable and you need to add some tension to it.