Sticking with a 12-27 cassette to increase leg strength?

lewisdmz
lewisdmz Posts: 5
edited November 2014 in Road general
Hello,

First post although I have spend hours reading the forum since I started riding, lots of invaluable knowledge on here so thank you for that.

I live in Devon and there are quite a few 20%+ hills around as well as long 8-10% gradients. My riding style is definitely high cadence and in 'full gas' mode i'll be spinning at 110rpm on the flats, climbing I prefer to stay around 90-100.

I recently bought a second hand wheelset which came with a 105 12-27 cassette, my old cassette was a Tiagra 12-30 and i'm really suffering on the steeper hills, my cadence is dropping to ~75rpm and it feels horrible to me as well as being slower.

My question is - is it worth sticking with the 12-27 to increase leg strength until I can get back to that 90rpm cadence (making me much much faster) or should I put the 12-30 back on so i'm back in my comfort zone?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    I would put the old one back on until you no longer need to use the 30 and can use the 27 on the 12-30 cassette. Then you can swap back over.
  • dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,217
    Kajjal wrote:
    I would put the old one back on until you no longer need to use the 30 and can use the 27 on the 12-30 cassette. Then you can swap back over.

^This. My road bike originally came fitted with a 12-28Tand I struggled on some hills, being used to lower gears on my road MTB. I fitted a 12-30T cassette and found it helped initially, now after a year on the road bike I find I tend to use the 27T more as my low gear, though I do still need the 30T at times.
  • NeXXus
    NeXXus Posts: 854
    Strength has very little to do with cycling, swap cassettes
    And the people bowed and prayed, to the neon god they made.