Time for a change, bits, or bike?

evade
evade Posts: 115
edited October 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hey all

I'm an occasional rider, I'm pretty good on trails with only small obstacles, small tech sections, rock gardens. I've been riding for a few years on and off. I moved a couple of years ago, and bought a pimped-up 2009 Anthem X2, carbon everything, it's light as a feather, and has flat, narrow bars, a real race machine. A lot of the trails here scare the beejeezus out of me, I've never felt comfortable, even on the only marginal tech stuff. And I'm blaming the bike. I tried a downhill bike last year, and wow, it opened everything up for me. I went back home last month and took my old Scott Spark out to North Wales for a few days, which is heavier, has an extra 20mm and wide bars. It felt amazing, I was tanking around the blacks like a champ (well, errrr, kinda). Then I get back here, get on the X2, and it feels twitchy, unstable, and all my confidence goes out the window.

So I'm blaming the bike... Gotta be the bike's fault...

What I'd like to know is...

Would just getting wider bars make much difference? It feels like it could...

Or is it all the carbon making it feel so twitchy?

I don't wanna pump a load of coin on the off-chance...

Or should I be looking at getting more of a trail bike than a racer, will that give me more confidence when the going gets tougher?

If I should swap/upgrade the bike, should I go Trance, or Reign (in terms of mm sus)? If the latter, will it have a huge impact on climbing, or barely be noticeable?

Would appreciate any thoughts.

Evade :?
Evade
Scott Spark 35

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    I had basically the same frame and it doesn't have to be twitchy at all.
    Wider bars and shorter stem will help a lot and I had 120mm forks on mine (Rockshox Rebas) which just made it a touch slacker. If you have skinny tyres that won't help.
    No reason the carbon bits will make it twitchy.