What groupset to add to frame with DA9000 BB?

jon_e00
jon_e00 Posts: 64
edited October 2014 in Road buying advice
I've currently got a new frame that came with a Dura Ace 9000 bottom-bracket and Ultegra brake callipers. I therefore need to purchase crankset, cassette, derailers, chain and levers. As a complete novice I'm a little unsure what to purchase. I can't afford a full Dura Ace groupset and have roughly £400-£500 to spend. I've looked at Ultegra 6800 and have seen some good prices for new parts. Would there be a problem mixing this with the DA BB? If mixing group sets isn't a problem and I am able to buy a couple of Dura Ace 9000 parts, what should take priority?

Also, I've got Spinergy Stealth PBO wheels. Will the Ultegra 11-speed cassette fit the standard Shimano hub?

Thanks

Comments

• foggymike
    foggymike Posts: 862
    You can fit any Shimano groupset onto any Shimano bb from sora upwards so just ignore the bb and get what you want. the bb is only a £10-£20 part anyway and easily removed/replaced so you should ignore it really and put on whatever you want based on your budget.

I don't know about spinergy hubs, but if they are more than a couple of years old they will most likely be 10 speed only, so that will limit you to tiagra or 5700 105 which are 10 speed unless you can source an older 10 speed ultegra/DA groupset. I suspect you'll need some new wheels too if you want an 11 speed groupset.
  • jon_e00
    foggymike wrote:
    You can fit any Shimano groupset onto any Shimano bb from sora upwards so just ignore the bb and get what you want. the bb is only a £10-£20 part anyway and easily removed/replaced so you should ignore it really and put on whatever you want based on your budget.