Help finding my new bike!

bamsacon
bamsacon Posts: 3
edited November 2014 in MTB buying advice
Evening all, after 4/5 years away from riding I'm in the market for a decent bike to get riding again. I used to have a Kona Kula Supreme with a pretty hardcore XC lightweight spec but I'm after something a bit different now. As I've been out of the fold for some time there is an entire wealth of new bikes/tech that has me slightly in need of help!

So, please stay with me as I now give a list of vague requirements :lol:

Budget can vary from £1000-£2000 for a new or second hand bike. Full sus seems the right thing to do. I used to be a bike mechanic so am happy to assemble and sort my own stuff.

Riding wise I live right on the South Downs and am happy to travel so will be doing lots of varied trail riding, ups and downs. I'd like a bike that can be chucked about down hills and happily fly back up!

Any info greatly appreciated, will be scouring the reviews sections and forums here for further advice.

Thanks

Sam

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Bit of a leftfield choice:

http://www.paulscycles.co.uk/m1b0s1p403 ... LT-30-2012

Might be a bit heavy - it scores fairly favourable reviews, so with all that money knocked off could be worth a look.

This is great value too, and highly reviewed:

http://www.yt-industries.com/shop/en/Bi ... icked-650B

If you want something a little less travel, look at the Giant Trance series.
  • Great start, thank you! When I stopped there was hardly any talk of 'big wheel' bikes. What is the deal with them? How do they ride? Is it just a fad? I'm sceptical but having never ridden one can hardly comment!
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708