I give you £1,000

Tim..
Tim.. Posts: 10
edited October 2014 in MTB buying advice
.... hypothetically, what do you buy?

Hi, I'm pretty new to mountain biking and my knowledge of bikes is very limited.
I do know I'm after a full suspension bike and that my limit is £1k.

So if you can steer me in the right direction and with a reason why I'd appreciate it.
Thanks

(I do have a bike in mind that was recommended to me, however, I spoke to someone today who told me not to touch it with a barge pole hence my signing up here for advice)

Comments

• Briggo
    Briggo Posts: 3,537
    You want a 2010 Stumpjumper FSR Comp
  • Tim..
    I should have mentioned I want a new bike.
  • wmorgs
    wmorgs Posts: 113
    You a limited for a full suss at that budget might want to think hardtails or:

http://www.decathlon.co.uk/rockrider-91 ... 13074.html

http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/m ... -650b-2014

Or carefully pick a decent 2nd hand bike.
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    This is brilliant for the price and within budget

Or for an extra £129 over budget this is superb
    http://www.paulscycles.co.uk/m1b0s1p494 ... M-X-2-2013
  • Tim..
    I appreciate the £1k and full sus (new) is a bit tight, but it is definitely what I'm after.
  • Tim..
    I'll add a bit more info, after speaking to a few guys at bike shops they recommended the new GIANT Stance 27.5 2 at £999. Little bit of reading up and I was sold. Today I was talking to a guy, again in another bike shop, who recommended I avoid giant and go for something like a Ghost.

As I said earlier I have no idea what's good/bad/ugly/fashionable or not in the bike world so a little guidance please :)
  • rockmonkeysc
    I would avoid that particular Giant. The Boardman is much better for the same money but the Anthem X2 I linked to is a lot better for only slightly more cash.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812