Innacuracies : Strava vs cycle computer

funkyg
funkyg Posts: 68
edited January 2016 in Road beginners
I’ve been using Strava since I got my bike six months ago, and it’s been brilliant for tracking my improvements (or not!) over the routes I do.
I did have the iPhone mounted to my stem but it looked a bit clunky and I also wanted something with current speed/cadence showing so I got myself a wireless cycle computer (Boardman) and now tuck the phone in my jersey pocket.
When setting the computer up, I used the default settings for my 700 x 23mm wheel/tyre but found that the distance travelled on that differed slightly from what Strava told me.
So I rolled the bike to measure the exact circumference of the wheel and it tallied with the standard setting that had already been set.

I forget which way round but one shows a lesser distance and therefore a higher average speed than the other.

So which would you believe, Strava on the iPhone or a dedicated cycle computer?
Cheers.
GT Avalanche 3.0 Hydro
Ridley R6 EL

Comments

• gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,640
    Computer.
  • larkim
    larkim Posts: 2,485
    A well calibrated cycle computer measuring the distance travelled by a wheel which is accurately measured and takes into account all necessary factors (e.g. tyre pressures) should be more accurate than any GPS reading, as the GPS is measuring the distance from one approximate location +/- a couple of metres to another approximate location +/- a couple of metres.

But assuming a decent "view" of the sky from the mounting position, a GPS will always be materially correct, enough for the purposes of tracking how far you've cycled.