Superstar Wheels...

Angus Young
Angus Young Posts: 3,063
edited October 2014 in MTB buying advice
So I decided to go for the Superstar Carbon AM wheelset.

http://www.superstarcomponents.com/en/a ... eelset.htm

But, as with everything mountain biking, why do there have to be so many bloody options?!

So I sent an email to Superstar...

Hi

I'm about to order a set of your Carbon AM wheels for a Kona Process 134.

Could you please look at the spec here...

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/kona-process-134-275-650b-2014/

... and advise on what options I need to order. Bear in mind that I'll be fitting a Pike to the front.

In particular I'm a little confused with the spec at the rear as, in the mbr review it states...
"The sturdy rear stays culminate at oversized hollow dropouts hiding a bolt-through 142x12mm axle." and the bike has a QR. These seem to be two different options in your drop downs on the order page.

I'm new to all this so any guidance you can give as to what I need front and back would be most helpful.

They replied...

Hello, here is all the info you need to work out what hub adaptors you need:

Front: Your options for front adaptors are as follow, QR 5mm and QR 9mm these both fit into standard MTB QR forks, examples below

QR 5mm: http://www.superstarcomponents.com/en/p ... mo-qrs.htm
QR 10mm: http://www.superstarcomponents.com/en/1 ... h-axle.htm

If you have 15mm or 20mm thru axles you will need to select the correct size for your forks.

Rear: Our rear hubs come in two standard sizes 135mm and 150mm.

Our 135mm hubs can be adapted to QR 5mm, Oversize 10mm QR, 12mm x 135mm and 12mm x142mm (Syntace X-12 System). You simply need to select the correct size from the drop down menu for your frame. 135mm hubs cannot be adapted to 150mm spacing.