newbie advice please..what bike??

mcgann_77
mcgann_77 Posts: 39
edited October 2014 in MTB buying advice
hi all im new to this site and am looking for some advice.i am wanting to get into mountain biking and have been searching around for way too long about what bike to go for.i have a £400 maximum budget and had thought a Carrera Vulcan was the one to go for,but then I read about maybe a specialized hard rock or few other makes.some people seem to think going for a full suspension bike would be better? my intentions are to use the bike for trails and woodlands etc with a view to trying some downhilling at a later date.any advice / opinions would be much appreciated.thanks

Comments

• FOAM
    FOAM Posts: 13
    I am still pretty new to this myself but with that budget I think the Voodoo Hoodoo (£400 sale @ Halfords) or the Calibre Two Two (£370 @ Go Outdoors) are very good specced. You could also go for something from Deacthlon such as the B'TWIN Rockrider 520. (£370)

If you wanted to spend a little less money the Voodoo Bantu is about £320 atm (Halfords)

Specialized bikes (or other large brands) generally spec very badly at low price points.

At this price point ignoring full suspension is the best option.
  • With your budget you do not want to be going for a full suspension MTB.

FOAM has pretty much pointed out the best contenders. If you can try them out before you buy and see which one you find the best.

Scott Genius MC 30 RIP
    Nukeproof Mega AM 275 Comp
    Cube LTD Rigid Commuter
    Ribble 7005 Sportive
  • right ok thanks for the advice guys.i will take a look around the few shops in my area to see if they are stocked there,we have a Halfords here but not many others nearby and as far as im aware the ones we do have are small shops.at least I can now rule out full suspension bikes now so that's good :)
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812