Mountain bike for tall chap

Simmo72
Simmo72 Posts: 262
edited September 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hi, looking for some advice. The last mountain bike I had was a giant with slx. It was that long ago it didn't even have front shocks. I ride a lot of road. But looking to get a mountain bike for some winter fun on some trails but I am a complete newbie when it comes to off road spec.

First thing, I'm 6ft 5 and have very long legs, so thinking a 29er is the way to go, but now we also have 27"....should I stay on the 29 route?

Budget is going to be somewhere between 700-1000 and hopefully I can get it on the ride to work scheme. I need something with a decent bit of handlebar height, I ride a road bike with bb to top of saddle at around 87cm. I'm not a brand snob, will happily go with one of the big names like trek or specialized but if a lesser known brand gets you a good bike and kit and a comfortable ride then even better. I haven't bought a complete bike in over 25 years, just frames and custom builds so this is a bit of a minefield.

Any suggestions before I start looking around the local shops. Any decent smaller brands producing the good stuff? What short of spec would you go for with this budget. Unlike my road kit, I just want a one of purchase without endless upgrades.....he says knowing the off road bug will probably bite!

MANY THANKS

Comments

• kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    The first thing is to get an idea of what size you need. If you are 6ft5 with long legs you may need to look at bikes like the crave or rockhopper from specialized as they come in sizes to fit over 6ft6. I have a Carve (old name for Crave) and it is the first bike that fits me comfortably with no changes at over 6ft6. Don't try to fit a "better" bike that is too small and do sone test rides to confirm.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Being tall does not mean you need larger wheels. Not a at all! Try a few out if you can, I'd be looking at Halfords and Decathlon.