First bike ~£400 - Cyprus

s0crates
s0crates Posts: 10
edited October 2014 in MTB buying advice
Greetings from Cyprus,

Looking to get a bike after a long time (haven't had one since I was a kid). I'm completely new at this so bear with me :)

My budget is around 400 gbp so what I'm considering now:

1. Calibre Two.Two @ 380gbp (including shipping to Cyprus from outdoorsports)
2. GT Karakoram Sport 29er Hydro (2014) @ 400gbp (from Cyprus)
3. Kelly's Viper 60 @ 290gbp (from Cyprus): I know you probably never seen these so here's a link:
http://www.kellysbike.com/int/bikes-201 ... er-60-vamp

Carrera Kraken was another option I was interested in but it's not available for shipping to Cyprus.

Now, I know trying a bike out before buying is a no brainer, but I was wondering if Calibre is worth the risk, I want to get the best possible for my budget. Also, would spending an extra 80 quid (480gbp) for buying a Trek 4300 be justified, is it worth it's money compared to Karakoram or Calibre?

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    The Kelly has a pointless, rubbish fork, so I would discount that. Same as the GT.
    The Calibre is a decent bike at a decent price.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Hi cooldad, thanks for the response. Indeed doing some further research on forks and the other specs it seems there's no way I'm going to find anything similar at that price range. There's always a risk when buying something like this without trying out first, but from what I read you simply can't go wrong with the Calibre can you?
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The only way to go wrong is buying the wrong size!
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Haha true. Well I'm 1.74m (5ft8.5in) so size 18 would be the one for me I suppose