New Ti bike to replace my 40 y/o Raleigh

EdH51
EdH51 Posts: 29
edited October 2014 in Road buying advice
My former bike was a '73 Raleigh International. Liked it very much. Unfortunately, someone else liked it a bit more than I did; so I've been researching a replacement. I'm a bit of a noob at this (understatement) so I may need some (or, possibly, a lot) of help.

My decisions thus far:
  • Kinesis GranFondo Ti v2 frame (& fork)
  • Shimano Ultegra 6800 components
  • wheels:
    • Velocity A23 & A23OC rims
    • DT Swiss 14/15/14 spokes & brass nipples
    • 32 spoke / 3-cross construction, front & rear
    • (undecided brand) 700x25c / 700x28c tubeless tires/tyres
The problem is that I've never built a bike before. I'm handy with tools so I'm not too much worried about that. And I'll order the wheels custom-built. However, looking at all the choices on the various web sites, I'm somewhat overwhelmed and not quite sure what it is I'm ordering. There often seem to be several versions of things; and their differences, while appearing insignificant in print, are, I suspect, awaiting the chance to bite me in the @$$/@r$e. Any advice greatly appreciated!
Old: '73 Raleigh International; Soon to be new: '13/14 Kinesis GF Ti/2, Ritchey, Ultegra, A23/A23OC

Comments

• In terms of choices there are two main factors - what fits and what you want. In terms of what fits you need to start from http://www.kinesisbikes.co.uk/technical/racelight/gf-ti for your frame. That tells you you need:
    31.6 mm seat post
    34.9 band-on front mech
    68mm British BB

The big things there for groupset are the 34.9mm band-on front and the BB spec. They will normally be an option on ordering. Those are the need bits. From there you go to what you want - crank length, front ring choices (compact, standard or custom) and your choice of cassette.

Similarly the seat post - as long as it is 31.6 you are OK - your choice of alloy, Carbon or Titanium, straight or set back.