Dumbest question on tyre

Daveryme
Daveryme Posts: 8
edited September 2014 in Road beginners
Hi All,

as you will see from my question I have no knowledge about bike...at all :)

Thanks the C2W scheme I have decided to buy a road bike,(boardmann team carbon) the size of the wheel is 700c.

Can I fit any 700c tyre ( 21, 23, 25, 27 ) on this wheel ?

I am asking you that because I have also decided to buy a wheelset from china, they say " 700c clincher 27 mm wide" or " 700c clincher 25 mm wide"

whats the difference ?

(don't laugh) :)

Cheers

Dave

Comments

• drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    In simple terms, 700c is the diameter, 21/23/25/27/28 etc is the width.
    WyndyMilla Massive Attack | Rourke 953 | Condor Italia 531 Pro | Boardman CX Pro | DT Swiss RR440 Tubeless Wheels
    Find me on Strava
  • drlodge wrote:
    In simple terms, 700c is the diameter, 21/23/25/27/28 etc is the width.

Hi drlodge,

does that mean I can fit any (21/23/25/27/28)tyre on 700c wheel ?
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    Just to jump in and say yes and no!

Within reason, most regular rims will accept a wide range of widths of tyres - but you need to be certain your frame and forks can handle a wider tyre. Many road bikes only have clearance for 23mm tyres (I don't know the specific frame you are looking at - maybe someone can help who owns one). There is a growing trend for clearances certainly for 25mm tyres and even 28mm on more and more framesets.