SPD adjustment options

larkim
larkim Posts: 2,485
edited September 2014 in Road beginners
I've put MTB pedals on my Triban so that I can use the same on my MTB. Went out tonight for my first tentative ride, and felt very comfortable with them in general, but clearly I'm not experienced about these things.

One thing I was slightly concerned about was that when I used toeclips, when I am standing up on the pedals climbing it always felt like my right foot rotated towards the left edge of my foot, particularly at the top part of the stroke, so that (if you can imagine this) I ended up with more pressure on the little toe side, and less on the ball of my foot. Clearly without cleats my foot was also free to rotate freely.

Climbing with the cleats felt incredibly powerful, which was good, but I could feel the same sensation again, but perhaps with the foot being a little more limited in its freedom. Ultimately this seems to transfer a twisting action up to my knee, and it certainly felt as if the inside (i.e. towards the bike, not behind the patella) of my knee was getting warm through my uphill phases.

I clearly need to do some experimenting with ideal cleat location, focussing on my right leg (left was absolutely fine). Where would you start? Front to back? Left to right? Angled?

(Bear in mind that I've bought a £300 bike and £30 shoes - any suggestions that I spend £100+ on a bike fitting are unfortunately impractical, no matter how beneficial they might be, I just couldn't get that past SWMBO!)

Thanks!

Matt
2015 Canyon Nerve AL 6.0 (son #1's)
2011 Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc (son #4s)
2013 Decathlon Triban 3 (red) (mine)
2019 Hoy Bonaly 26" Disc (son #2s)
2018 Voodoo Bizango (mine)
2018 Voodoo Maji (wife's)

Comments

• I am not an expert, but if have a suggestion.

If you naturally weight the inner part of your foot, why not get a shaped insole for your shoe that sets your foot at the angle it wants to be at?

Cheap solution worth trying.
  • larkim