Not all clipless pedals are created equal

larkim
larkim Posts: 2,474
edited September 2014 in MTB general
Just an observation - decided to have a go at clipless on the MTB having put some SPD pedals on my r**d bike too.

Bought M530 for the MTB and M520 for the other. Both have been ridden with clips just the once.

Despite having wound the tension back on both sets of pedals to their loosest setting, it is noticeably harder on the M530s to get the cleats in and out. I've tried this by hand, just slotting the shoe in and then twisting the heel outwards, and the difference is quite marked, so much so that I've swapped the M530s onto the thin wheeled bike, and put the M520s on the MTB (the opposite way I had planned) so that I can have a mild amount more confidence that, as a beginner, I'll be able to escape quicker in a more unexpected situation, which I reckon is more likely in a MTB scenario than a road one.

Anyone else found this difference? And any suggestions as to how I could try to slacken the M530s even more until I am really comfortable with them?

Cheers!

Matt
2015 Canyon Nerve AL 6.0 (son #1's)
2011 Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc (son #4s)
2013 Decathlon Triban 3 (red) (mine)
2019 Hoy Bonaly 26" Disc (son #2s)
2018 Voodoo Bizango (mine)
2018 Voodoo Maji (wife's)

Comments

• The platforms are useless anyway, just use 520s.

If they really are backed right back then there's nothing you can do. Warn cleats will do the trick.
  • It's the same mechanism on both. They should be identical apart from the (completely pointless) cage.
  • larkim
    Definitely different weights. Perhaps some use will bed them in. Found them fine tonight anyway.

Differing opinions on the M530s - http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/ ... dal-45093/ persuaded me they were worth a try as a beginner.