scott foil 10 vs supersix evo advice

tom3
tom3 Posts: 287
edited September 2014 in Road buying advice
I have narrowed my choice down to two, a foil 10 or evo.

I have previously owned a supersix that came second best to a smidsy so although its something I know I like, I am tempted by the foil.

Either bike would be used for fast club rides and the odd 3/4 race next year.

anyone own or ridden a foil 10 that can give an honest assessment of the frame and the standard syncros rr 2.0 wheels?

thanks

Comments

• I can only comment on the frame (2012 Foil 10 HMX carbon).

I've been riding mine for 12 months now and it's been a superb bike. I have it kitted out with Campagnolo Record and Zipp 303 FC tubs. It's stiff as, but I don't find it a harsh ride and I'm more than happy to knock out a century on it (in miles not km). It looks fast in the flesh/carbon.
  • tom3
    thanks, it would be the cheaper carbon layup but I can't see there being a massive difference tbh.

Good to know its not too harsh. I am on a CAAD10 at the moment and my back is done in after a 50.

how does it climb?
  • I don't subscribe to the 'it climbs well/it's goes really fast' description - because it's the rider that does that. However i've gone up quite a few meters on mine and it's been fun ;-)
  • tom3
    I don't subscribe to the 'it climbs well/it's goes really fast' description - because it's the rider that does that. However i've gone up quite a few meters on mine and it's been fun ;-)

fair comment, cant argue with that response :D I will re phrase, is there any flex through the frame when climbing?
  • matt-h
    matt-h Posts: 847
    I've just returned from 4 days in the Alps and completed over 30000ft of climbing. I can assure you there is no flex at all.
    Super comfortable as long as your fit is right
    I run 25mm tyres on wide rims which will make it more comfortable

Matt
  • Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    tom3 wrote: