Valuable lesson learned - I need to stretch first

redrabbit
redrabbit Posts: 95
edited September 2014 in Road beginners
I'm 30 and really into bodybuilding and powerlifting. I'm new to cycling and enjoying it as a form of cardio. I suffer from muscle tightness, and quite often lower back soreness.

Before the gym I always do about 20 minutes of foam rolling, stretching all body parts very deeply, dynamic stretching, rolling on a hard ball, etc...

The other day I went for a ride (only my 5th ride) and it was a short one ahead of a 50 mile one I have on Sunday. I rode for around 45 minutes and covered just over 10 miles but it felt a lot further and was hard.

Most of the way I felt very stiff in my lower back, and have actually pulled a muscle in my neck - I think as I was on the drops a lot and probably stiff and maybe in a poor position. The bike is professionally fitted.

Anyway, I got back home, did all my stretches and just felt lots of stretches, particularly my hamstrings, hips and lower back. They were extremely tight.

Conclusion - I think for my personally, I need to stretch properly before each ride, particularly as lower back is an issue with me.

Has anyone else encountered this - that stretching before is required?

Comments

• Sounds like you you have a muscular imbalance as your have stated you pulled a muscle in your neck and regularly have lower back muscle issues.

Would suggest that stretching will help but is not the cause of the issue and perhaps you need to strengthen though muscles to stop this happening regularly?
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • olake92
    olake92 Posts: 182
    This makes perfect sense. Although with some corrective exercises you would need to stretch less. I stretch and foam roll before most rides and have done lots of corrective functional strength work to alleviate most of the problems I have had.