Techniques for numpties

PaddyG68
PaddyG68 Posts: 34
edited September 2014 in MTB beginners
I've been MTBing for quite a few years now, but I've never mastered some of the more technical aspects such as riding steps, drop-offs, steep downhill/uphill and bunny-hops, for example (looks fondly at his local, flat, easy single trail routes). To be honest, some of them scare me shitless, for fear of going arse over tit, or worse. I've looked at a quite a few vids, but it's always by guys who perform each manoeuvre perfectly and effortlessly. How did you overcome your initial fears and can you recommend some demos of total numpties trying these things out?
2011 Scott Spark Team 29er
2014 Cannondale CAAD8 7 Sora

Comments

• lostboysaint
    lostboysaint Posts: 4,250
    Subscribe online to IMB mag (an online mag) and read the technique articles on there that Richard Kelly does.

Or better still, get down to Surrey Hills and do an "All Bike Up" tuition day (with Richard!).
    Trail fun - Transition Bandit
    Road - Wilier Izoard Centaur/Cube Agree C62 Disc
    Allround - Cotic Solaris
  • PaddyG68
    Subscribe online to IMB mag (an online mag) and read the technique articles on there that Richard Kelly does.

Or better still, get down to Surrey Hills and do an "All Bike Up" tuition day (with Richard!).

Sorry, should have it in my profile; I live in Switzerland :(.
  • paul.skibum
    paul.skibum Posts: 4,068
    Try and get hold of Brian Lopes MTB Technique book - its not great but does cover things reasonably well, but basically weight back is key to most things - butt back off the saddle and over the rear axles, flat back flex arms and legs and let the damn bike move around under you.

Build up to things - ride off a curb, ride a couple of steps, play around with lifting the front wheel, lifting the back wheel, get used to being on the bike and getting it to do things.
    Closet jockey wheel pimp whore.
  • lostboysaint
    PaddyG68 wrote: