Cheap (ish) wheelset recommendations.

effillo
effillo Posts: 257
edited August 2014 in Road beginners
I am relatively new to the road cycling game. Cycled for a few years when I was late teens then forgot about it, I am now late 20’s and have in the last few months got myself a Cannondale CAAD8 on ride2work and really got back into it.

I have a fairly good level of fitness built from running for a few years and regularly race 10k’s and half marathons so got off to a good start on the bike. I have probably put in close to 1000 miles and tend to have an av speed of around 16.5mph to 17mph. Weight hovers around 73kg.

Apologies for the life story but thought it would be good to give a bit of background before I carried on as I know usually replies tend to ask these questions.

I am specifically looking at upgrading my wheels as most people I speak to tend to say start here for the biggest impact initially. Currently I have stock rims and tyres, Maddux RS 3.0 which I am led to believe are around 2400g (from a thread on here).

I am looking to spend around £200 on a wheelset, I know this is not a great deal but from what I am seeing I can expect to shed at least 800g at this price point which seems like a good chunk to me, especially from rotating mass, and will probably be a big leap from the standard set I have. I do not want to spend a massive amount as I am all new to this and to be honest I can see myself going for a more expensive bike next summer and selling the CAAD8 on, probably complete composite frame as I am likely to start entering duathlons.

Can anyone offer any opinions on what may be a good set to look at.....?

Thanks/

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Go into the Road Buying Advice section, type "wheels £200" into the advanced search function (using search ALL terms) and loads of hits should come up. Grab a coffee and work your way through all our personally biased opinions :)
  • drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826