Cyclists near Stalybridge

CocoRide
CocoRide Posts: 9
edited September 2014 in Road beginners
Any cyclists living east of Manchester towards Stalybridge? I need some help. Me and my OH have just bought a house on Crowswood Drive http://www.bridgfords.co.uk/forsaleoffice/Stalybridge/407 and we're wondering what good cycling routes you can suggest nearby? Were beginners so something not too hilly

Comments

• CocoRide wrote:
    Were beginners so something not too hilly

Muahahaha! :twisted: :D

Sorry - can't help you with this "not too hilly" you speak of. But you're very lucky to have moved to some of the very best cycling in the country. You have Holme Moss on the doorstep.

http://www.strava.com/activities/94080876
  • gazman1
    gazman1 Posts: 77
    Cocoride, welcome to the forum, i am a relative newbie myself and live in Dukinfield. I am presuming you ride road bikes? I ride occasionally with a pal of mine who is in his 60s so nice and steady, if you would like to inbox me we can have a chat and try to arrange something, however I work away quite a lot so time is a bit scarce, Gary
  • crikey
    crikey Posts: 362
    You have moved to possibly the best spot for cycling for about a million miles, but don't tell everyone...

Any of the roads leading towards the big hills will be great, and you will enjoy getting up them eventually. The added bonus is that there is usually a prevailing westerly wind so you get help going up. It's also downhill all the way home.

There are lots and lots and lots of really good roads to ride from where you are, plus lots of off-road stuff from technical to flat to entertain you.

As a welcome break from assembling wardrobes, try a spin up towards Greenfield, then onto Uppermill, calling at the coffee bar Java, or any of the extremely numerous pubs along the way.

Shout out on here if you would like some pointers or a guide to the best bits.