My first audax - tips?

RallyBiker
RallyBiker Posts: 378
I've put my name down for the north Wales based Sych it and Sea audax. I've never done one before, but the £5 entry fee seemed so inviting, well what can you do, but do it?! It's 210km with 2850m elevation. Fitness wise I'm on it, but audax experience is nil. I've only done 100+mile sportives (Etape Eryri, Dragon, Cheshire Cat etc.) so any tips from audaxer would be most welcome.

Comments

• dilatory
    dilatory Posts: 565
    Am also doing this Auduax and it is my first. Longest ride to date is similar. I think it's just more of the same. Eat well, pace properly. Keep on keeping on.
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    Enjoy it! That's the main thing.

I don't know this one in particular, but most rides have stages of 50-80km between controls (cafes or village halls etc.), so it's only ever a series of 3ish hour rides punctuated by a cup of tea!

If you've ridden 100 miles, you'll be absolutely fine with 125.

If you are not a GPS user, make sure you have a way of mounting your routesheet on your bars - there are purpose-made map-traps, but a bit of stiff plastic board (the stuff estate agents use to make their boards (Corex?) is ideal with a couple of cable ties and a bull-dog clip or elastic bands - put the route sheet in a plastic bag).

Beyond that, just carry what you normally would on a long day out (tools, tubes, pump etc.) and clothing to deal with anticipated conditions. A pencil in case there are any info questions (to prove you have passed a certain point there may be a question on the brevet card to ask something like "when is the last post collected on a Tuesday at the junction of X and Y?") - though many of us just take a photo of the answer on our phones and fill in the card at the end.

Beyond the route finding and having to be a bit more self-sufficient, there's little difference to the approach you've had on previous sportives.

Enjoy it!