Front derailleur....again!

thefd
thefd Posts: 1,021
edited August 2014 in Workshop
Hi all,

I'm a bit of a newbie so please go easy on me.

I have just replaced the whole of my groupset from the 105 5700 to the new 105 5800, and the only thing I am having a little bit of an issue with is the front derailleur.

The new style is a little different from the old one. There is a grub screw which pushes against the frame, which I only realised about after installing it. So I had to whip it all off and start again.

The L limit screw works a treat, but the H limit screw doesn't seem to move the cage.

I have put the chain on the largest sprocket at the back, and the smallest chain ring and set the limit (with the L screw) without putting the cable onto the derailleur. Then put the cable on and moved to the smallest sprocket on the cassette, and when I try to move up to the big ring, the derailleur won't quite move enough to allow the chain up onto the big ring, but moving the H screw makes no difference. The derailleur doesn't move at all by moving the H screw!

I increased the tension on the cable and it still won't go up to the big ring, but still the H screw makes no difference.

Any ideas?

Why doesn't the H screw seem to move the cage at all? Even turning it either way, especially when the L screw does.
2017 - Caadx
2016 - Cervelo R3
2013 - R872
2010 - Spesh Tarmac

Comments

• Too much cable tension can cause the problem with h screw youre describing. This is assuming the derailleur has been lined up correctly to begin with. Real tensioning should be done with the barrel adjuster.
  • thefd
    It's internal cabling and has no barrel adjuster. Other than admitting defeat and going to a bike shop I'm really struggling with this!
    2017 - Caadx
    2016 - Cervelo R3
    2013 - R872
    2010 - Spesh Tarmac
  • You need to fit one of those inline cable adjuster http://www.wiggle.co.uk/bbb-bcb-95-in-l ... -adjuster/