hydration and energy strategies for tired legs

markiegrim
markiegrim Posts: 136
edited August 2014 in Road beginners
I posted before about how I get v weak legs after ca. 35+ miles (quite hilly routes, 46 years old, but slim/fit-ish). No end of training seems to get me past this point

Eating a flapjack after 20 miles does not help

I'm now wondering if I need to do more than just drink plain water? Perhaps I need to add a hydration powder? Thinking that the dead legs may be down to a need for electrolyte replacement?

...or maybe energy drink (carbs) would be better?

As always, all advice v welcome

Markie

Comments

• roux_guy
    roux_guy Posts: 88
    I'm a relative noob (2,800 miles over 15 months) but Personally I find I start running out of calories at 30-35 miles and find eating a great help. I don't normally use electrolytes but I bought some recently and find one tablet in a 750ml bottle helps on the extremely hot evenings we've been having recently where I get in a soggy, sweaty mess.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    markiegrim wrote:
    No end of training seems to get me past this point
    what kind of training?
  • Escher303
    Escher303 Posts: 342
    Do you give up after 35 miles when your legs get tired? If you regularly push through onto 50 it's going to hurt the first few times but once you've adapted 35 will feel easy.

What's a typical weeks riding for you?
  • markiegrim
    Escher303 wrote:
    Do you give up after 35 miles when your legs get tired? If you regularly push through onto 50 it's going to hurt the first few times but once you've adapted 35 will feel easy.

What's a typical weeks riding for you?

Typically I ride 2-3 hours on a Sunday morning and 1 hour on a middle week eve.

Reality is I usually only have time for a 35 mile ride, but at that point my legs are done for. I got as far as 45 miles and there was really no power left