Trek emonda vs Wilier gtr

Silverknapper
Silverknapper Posts: 15
edited August 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi folks

Apologies for adding to the which bike stream of threads. But I'm brand new to road biking and completely lost. Many thanks for reading this far!!

I'm in the market for a road bike up to £1500. It's for general riding, no commuting.

I seem to have arrived at two options. The trek emonda S5 with 105 at £1500 or the Wilier GTR at £1250 with veloce. ( I'm also interested to see opinions on wether or not the tiagra equipped emonda S4 is better value at £1200.)

Am I off the mark with these options. Should I be looking elsewhere? I'm keen to buy from a lbs as I'm so new to road biking I value their help and advice. Between them all the shops cover most brands. In saying that I do have a merlin MTB

Cheers

Comments

• StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    By the Wilier GTR you mean the Triestina GTR rather than the old GTR which would be a little more expensive even at second hand prices. The Wilier is a good bike ready for Di2 should you want to go that way. The frame is a cross between full on racer and sportive so you get the stiffness of a race frame with the comfort of a sportive frame. Somehow they got it to work. The internal cabling for the rear derailleur is a bastard to thread so be prepared for a few frustrating moments when you need to do it if you do your own servicing/building. I ditched all the components off mine as I just wanted a frame and it was cheaper buying a Veloce equipped bike than a frame on its own once I sold the original components off. What I do know of the original components from others that have the same bike, is that you have to ensure the FSA Gossamer non-drive side crank arm is torqued correctly on a regular basis as they can drop off.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • thefog
    thefog Posts: 197