Route planning

rodofgod76
rodofgod76 Posts: 31
edited August 2014 in Road beginners
I'm looking at potential routes for my new life as a roadie, and was wondering if anyone knows of any apps or website's where you can plan your route, view the profile of it and share it with your mates?

Comments

• fudgey
    fudgey Posts: 854
    You can do that on strava then send it on
    My winter bike is exactly the same as my summer bike,,, but dirty...
  • On the app or website? I'm brand new to Strive, been using Endomondo for years for running, hiking and mtb, so not familiar with it's features. :oops:
  • fudgey
    On the website. My mate sent me some routes the other day so it is possible. I have not personally done it yet tho.
  • smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909
    Strava is ok but you have to pay to download routes you want to create. Garmin Connect is a great tool for route planning and putting on a Garmin or smartphone.

Alternatively, go exploring. forget setting particular routes and just ride and see where it takes you for a bit then when you find a route you like save it and follow.
  • Just had a play about with the strava route builder......quite good for what I want. Mainly viewing the profiles of an area.

I just bought a Garmin Edge 200 last weekend so have Garmin Connect. Will check that out. Also up for good old fashioned exploring too.
  • fudgey
    We dont download the routes, just kind of get an idea of where we want to go/distance and set off...
    Sometimes get lost but thats all part of the fun of it. Ha
  • defbref
    defbref Posts: 15
    ridewithgps.com
    mapmyride.com
    gpsies.com
    bikeroutetoaster.com
    cyclestreets.net

as well as those previousl mentioned and probably loads more!

I use ridewithgps.com
  • wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    I find RideWithGPS to be the best.
  • simona75
    simona75 Posts: 336
    I really like mapometer http://gb.mapometer.com/
  • whoof
    whoof Posts: 756