Novice cleat question

AshW92
AshW92 Posts: 67
edited August 2014 in Road beginners
Okay so i've been riding a road bike for about 9 months now, predominantly a mountain biker but it's good for commuting/getting fit, currently running Shimano XT clip in pedals (came with the bike) and Shimano M162 shoes, both as pictured.

1sazj7.jpg

bezlz5.jpg

My question is that i'm looking at upgrading to a set of Ultegra 6800 pedals, but they apparently come with their own type of cleat? Will they fit into my shoe or would i have to stump up for a new pair of shoes? I'd rather not, but i'm not sure if i have a choice

Comments

• NewTTer
    NewTTer Posts: 463
    Ultegra 6800 will require a 3 bolt SPD SL type cleat and shoe. Alas yours are SPD 2 bolt, so the only Option is to buy new shoes to. normally the pedals will be supplied with a pair of cleats. Or stick with what you have if it works for you.
    Hoep this helps
  • AshW92
    NewTTer wrote:
    Ultegra 6800 will require a 3 bolt SPD SL type cleat and shoe. Alas yours are SPD 2 bolt, so the only Option is to buy new shoes to. normally the pedals will be supplied with a pair of cleats. Or stick with what you have if it works for you.
    Hoep this helps

Presumed this was the case, no worries mate thanks a lot. XT's work fine, just wanted to see if the carbon Ultegra's were as good as everyone says, not overly sure what the difference between the two would be apart from them being lighter
  • 'Road' kit uses 3 (or 4 in speedplay's case) bolt cleats, whereas SPD is a 2 bolt design. There are road shoes that also take 2 bolt cleats, but not vice versa. Therefore, you would need new shoes, yes.

Why do you want to change?

Edit, last I checked the A600 ultegra SPD pedal is actually a little lighter than the SPD SL equivalent, not that it matters much. There's no mysterious performance boost from using products branded 'road'.
  • AshW92