New cassette, new chain - weird problem

2»

Comments

• chrisaonabike
    chrisaonabike Posts: 1,914
    Update:

Went out for a little ride tonight - just a quick lap of Richmond Park. Shifting is fine, all feels good. Just catches pedalling backwards still on the smallest cog.

The God of Irony was in the ascendant though - I wasn't pushing at all, just spinning my legs round on Broomfield Hill. This chap comes hurtling past me out of the saddle, pushing a big gear, his chain snaps literally right in front of me, and as he desperately tries to unclip, he fails and falls over in slomo.

So of course I stopped - turned out he had no chain splitter and had never changed a chain - and since I'm now a total expert on all things chain-related (cough, cough), and carry a chain tool and connecting pin (and a quick link now) I gave him one of the pins, reconnected his chain and sent him on his way.

Funny though, me with chain problems.
    Is the gorilla tired yet?
  • Old_Timer
    Old_Timer Posts: 262
    Good on you for stopping and helping the rider with the snapped chain, be careful that some of the angry birds here that feel stopping to help another rider unless they are bleeding profusely :shock: don't castigate you, or lat least shun you :roll: .

It sounds like there is a slight tooth problem on the smallest cog, to me. If that is the only cog that's having the issue then maybe you can narrow the problem tooth (teeth?) and hopefully straighten it out.

I kind of miss the old freewheels, with the separate cogs you could customize or replace, from the big Regina or Suntour cog boards in the LBS. Hope that you sort the last bit out easily, Chris.
    Lets just got for a ride, the heck with all this stuff...
  • mamba80
    mamba80 Posts: 5,032
    its not only stopping to help a stranded cyclist that will get "police" out, its also a failure to read (twice) that the op has swopped out the offending cog to no avail :lol:

refit the old chain just to prove?