Gear / Chain Advice

davegrix
davegrix Posts: 6
edited August 2014 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi guys n girls.

I have a RockRider 5.3 2011 model that I have been riding for some years and am currently giving a bit of a refresh on a few bits and bobs.

I have noticed that over the years I am using less and less of the 27 gears, on my daily commute I generally only use 22 through 27.

I reliase some of this is probably my legs getting stronger, but I have my suspicions about the chain and stretching, its one of those with a release pin so I have taken the occasional link out to try an combat the 'easyness' of the pedalling.

Is there anything else that this could be?

I am a complete novice so nice simple English would be greatly received!

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Is there anything else that what could be?
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    All that taking links out of the chain will do is rip your mech off when it gets too short.
    Nothing at all to do with how 'easy' it is to pedal.

Presumably your commute is pretty flat.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Yeah, no more than 100m height difference over 5 miles in Yorkshire.

Thanks for the tip on the chain.

Sorry, my question was really, why is it easier to pedal than I feel it should be? Is there something mechanical that could have worn on the bike that requires me to use higher gears for maintaining speed? For instance on flat at around 18-20mph there is no more tension in the chain to increase speed until I shift into 25th or above gear, it tops out at about 26mph in 27th gear, its basically like trying to pedal down hill and increase speed in 1st gear!
  • Antm81
    Antm81 Posts: 1,406