Carrera Kraken Mountain Bike 2011/2012 Replacements

SCOOOOP23
SCOOOOP23 Posts: 6
edited August 2014 in MTB beginners
Hello all,

Im new to Mountain Biking and this Forum so any help would be very much appreciated.

Heres my situation..

I bought one of these bikes 3 months ago..

http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/mountain-bikes/carrera-kraken-mountain-bike-2011-2012-medium-18

From the start of riding the bike there was a random click i could feel while pedaling the bike on the right crank arm, which turned into random creaks and now the crank arms move and wobble alittle after todays ride and are creaking alot, so im guessing that the BB needs replacing or does it just need tightening?

If the BB does need replacing could anyone suggest a replacement that aint too exspensive and is better than the one that originally came with it please.

Also would this tool kit have the correct BB removal tool i need to do the job....

http://www.halfords.com/cycling/tools-maintenance/tools/halfords-essential-bike-tool-kit

I have no clue what BB is already originally installed as i have no tools to remove everything yet!

Second problem ive had is the gears not shifting correctly on the rear wheel cogs, they would be catching onto the next larger cog mainly in the top 3-4 high gears even after adjusting the tension on the cable many of times i just cant seem to get it to be perfect, ive noticed that the rear derailleur is not snug against the frame and you can wobble it but the bolt is as tight as it goes so could this be the gear changing problem and do i need to replace it?

If it does need replacing could anyone suggest a replacement that aint too exspensive and is better than the one that originally came with it please.

Thanks

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Sounds like the crank arm are loose, they can be tightened but if you've been riding with them loose, chances are the splines are damaged. Likely to need new cranks in that case, not a BB.