Slicks for commuting

Tavish11
Tavish11 Posts: 18
edited August 2014 in MTB buying advice
I brought my RockRider 8.1 a couple of months ago (first MTB) & want some advice about tyres.

I have not been off roading with it as of yet but use daily for commuting to work which is all on road.

So I was wondering if I would be better off buying some slicks??

As I am new to the world of biking any advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Road slicks will be lighter (most likely) less draggy and have less aero resistance as well, well worth using for a road commute.

A popular choice is a 1.5", but Decathlon do some pretty good 1.2" very cheap, not tried them yet though.

I use 1.5" on my commuter, the budget choice is a Schwalbe city Jet, excellent for the price (about £12 ea), after that you step up to a wide range at about £25 like the Conti Sport contact, Panaracer RiBMo, WTB Slickasaurus and so on....
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • paul.skibum
    paul.skibum Posts: 4,068
    I had conti slicks on my touring/commute bike - lasted eternity (hence I cant recall the name) and were pretty grippy on a variety of terrain (mate of mine used to borrow it and come xc riding in mud and gravel - mud was a problem, gravel less so) - had them in 1.5 - considered switching to a 2.0 hookworm or big apple to allow for some potholing and hamfisted kerb slamming but sold the bike before I got round to it.
    Closet jockey wheel pimp whore.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    I put some used Slickasaurus on mine, the rear lasted 3500 miles more, the front lasted another 500 miles having been then moved to the rear, they don't wear very fast!