Caught the bug...now need some advice...

stampz
stampz Posts: 28
edited August 2014 in Commuting general
Morning all,

I am hoping you can help me.

I am a complete novice who has recently been given a bike and can feel myself getting addicted :D

Currently I ride a pretty old GT Frame mountain bike with some Manitou front forks…but obviously this is far from ideal on the road…..the cycle scheme is coming back round at work and I am looking for a bike that can “do it all”….from my commute (9 miles each way all road), to riding around a park with the kids or canal tow paths, when looking online for this kind of bike I came across Cyclocross, and I really like the idea.

I have also considered "hybrid" bikes, but like the idea of drop handlebars…and the looks of the cyclocross bikes. I am thinking of getting the Boardman CX Comp from Halfords…however, Halfords is not my preference (I have heard some horror stories)..and I would much rather go to a local shop, I live in Warwickshire just FYI.

I am looking to spend £600 (or under)…this is my top budget, would like to spend less if possible.

As I say at the moment I am looking at the CX Comp but am looking for general advice...

Is cyclocross the way to go
Should I look at hybrids
Are flat bars worse than drop bars
Is £600 too much for my first "proper" bike
Basically I need help :-)

If people could give me some help and guidance...maybe reccomend some models that might be suitable for my needs I would be REALLY grateful, I am feeling a little overwhelmed with all my options at the moment :?

Comments

• esa2
    esa2 Posts: 44