Looking for an affordable Carbon Wheelset!!!

acanale
acanale Posts: 6
edited July 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi,
I am relatively new in cycling (started this year)....I ride a Specilized Venge Comp 2013 and right now I am looking to get a carbon wheelset, I have been looking all over and have found very difficult to make up my mind on which set to get. I still do not want to get a pricy one, since I am looking forward to upgrade my bike maybe next year and do not want to spend all of my money into the wheelset.
Cycling training/racing per year, let say I do couple of Ironman 70,3 and couple of Olympic distance triathlons, the rest is mostly training....Training sessions go from 30 to 65 miles (45 to 100 km) and most of them with an elevation gain from 190 to 435 miles (300 to 700 mt).
From what I have looked, I have narrow to the following list:
- Mavic Cosmos Carbone SLS: $1,300 usd
- American Classic 58: $1,430 usd
- Flo 60/90: $900 usd
- Bontrager Aura 5: $1,200 usd
- Williams Carbon clincher: $1,200 usd
and maybe HED Jet 6: $1,600 usd

Any inputs that can help me make up my mind???

Comments

• Buy the best wheels you can as you'll use them on whatever frame you end up with.

Enve's built on to CK hubs would be my weapon of choice.
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • acanale
    Yes, that was the other option I was trying to avoid, but at the end it may be the wisest one!!!!
    Thanks!!!
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    Enve rims ride like an Open Pro why becuase they have the same internal width. Zipp do wider rims so do vision being a user of wider rims and toridal ones at that (OEM) though I would not want to go back to narrow ones. As there is a choice these days go with the better one.

HED only do wide rims so I think that is best for the off the shelf wheels. Either that or custom. ZED Cyclery is in the U.S so is Ergott wheels and both these builders are worth contacting.