Newbie - 4 bikes to consider

amk515
amk515 Posts: 4
edited July 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi all,

I'm new to cycling and looking to purchase a new bike via the Ride-to-Work scheme and was looking for some input. I went into Evans Cycles to have a look and was able to see 2 bikes and another 2 online. The bikes are:

Specialized Allez C2 2014 - £600
Felt F95 2014 - £599
Norco Valence A2 2014 - £640
Fuji Sportif 1.5 2014 - £650

I've been told the Specialized has Claris groupset, the Fuji and Felt have Sora and the Norco has Tiagra. The other thing I noticed was the Fuji has mechanical discs whereas the others have rim brakes.

I have no idea what bike I should get and I wasn't really given much explanation as to why one is better than the others (not sure if anyone else can?).

I will be commuting as well as riding with friends in my spare time but would also like to set myself a few challenges whilst trying to get back into shape. I'm aiming to attempt the Manchester to Blackpool ride next year.

If anyone can offer me some advise on the bikes above it would be much appreciated as I have no idea where to start.

Thanks,
Andy

Comments

• SoSimple
    SoSimple Posts: 301
    You need to ride your short list and not make a decision based on either reviews or looks. Even at this price range they will all feel and ride differently so don't fall into the trap of buying via a spreadsheet comparison.

Each of the groupsets you mention are good provided they are set up well and as for discs, I wouldn't get too hung up on them at this stage as whatever bike you buy, you'll be looking to either upgrade within 12-18 months, or sell it as 'hardly ridden' in the same timescale!

Not sure if you are committed to just Evans but on the Cycle to Work scheme you should be able to shop around which may give you more choice. Either way, don't overthink it....there's plenty of time for that when you upgrade!
  • amk515
    SoSimple wrote: