Hi all. Newbie here with a few questions.

amaru
amaru Posts: 4
edited July 2014 in Road beginners
Hi my name is Paul from notts. I have bought a Carrera Virtuoso 2015 model today. Unfortunately the weather is terrible so not had any chance to get out on bike.

So while i am stuck staring at bike i have a few questions.

How good are road bikes in wet weather? more wet ground rather than the 3" of rain we have had.
As i am a complete novice with road bikes, i opted to not buy shoes. Will it ruin the experience of learning?
Stock tyre is the Kenda K191 tyres, Are they any good or will it be a case of stock tyre = average at best?

Have not bought a lock yet as it won't be left anywhere other than home. Partly because i am unsure on which lock?

Anyway hopefully i will get the cycling bug and thank you for looking.

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    You plan on riding without shoes?
  • amaru
    Yes i thought it would save weight :)

I meant i never bought any proper cycling shoes. Will just use some trainers for now while i am learning
  • bob6397
    bob6397 Posts: 218
    Road bikes are mostly fine in wet weather - but as ever rim brake performance is appalling, and add in the low-grip tires (not specific to you, just the nature of treadless thin tires) and it can be quite hard not to lock up!!

In terms of a lock, a good d-lock (abus or kryptonite are good - but expect to pay around £50-£70 for a good one.)
    buy with a long cable with a loop on both ends for running around the bike through wheels etc to secure everything on your bike if you are likely to leave it in medium-high crime areas

I have no experience with the tyre but i suspect that it wont have very good puncture protection - buying some conti gp4000s or similar would be a good idea once they wear out.