Cant stand it

Nijinsky
Nijinsky Posts: 35
edited July 2014 in Road beginners
Im having problems on very steep hills. I live in the pennies so its hard to avoid them. I've been cycling now for a few months seriously and loving it, but only invested in a road bike last month.

I do enjoy hills but when it comes to a steep gradient where I have to stand it feels like the blood goes from my legs and I just dont have the endurace to keep going. We're talking about 15% gradients and above. I'm 6"2 and about 14.5 stone at the moment, which is rapidly reducing (the weight not the height).

There is a particular hill right by my house, about half a mile long, and hits about 17% at its worse, I can get half way up sitting in the saddle and then it starts to get really steep, I stand up and my legs just burn out after about 10 seconds.

Any advice to develop the strength?

just to note, I've ran out of gears by this point too, despite that I'm still attempting to shift in the hope there there is a secret gear to be found :lol:

Comments

• Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    What gearing are you running with?

I expect you'll say 50/34 with a 12-25 on the rear which is kind of the answer to your woes there
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • Colinthecop
    Colinthecop Posts: 996
    I found myself running out of gears (here in the Highlands where we also have hills), so I built my latest bike with a compact up front and a 28t sprocket at the back.

Made a big difference for me. 8)
  • Nijinsky
    no its a compact and a 12-28! Just lack of fitness?
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Yes, keep going at it and your fitness will improve.
  • markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614