Can I return this bike??

andysar
andysar Posts: 7
edited July 2014 in Road buying advice
On Saturday I bought a Giant Defy 1 from a local shop I told the assistant that the forums say I should be on a M/L frame but he said thats not right because I was taller than him and should be on a large because that is what he rides,( I am smigen under 6 ft). I took his word for this and decided to make any neeeded adjustments when I got home. After setting it up to what I believed was ok I took it out for 30 miles and decided it was to large and felt uncomfortable because my arms were at full lock to reach the handle bars. On the way home from work today I popped into another Giant dealers and he said straight away I was a M/L and would never have sold me a large frame Defy. I feel a bit stupid because I did sit on the original bike in the shop and I did say it was ok but I am a newbie at this game so did not know any better. So what I would like to know is what are my chances of getting the bike changed to M/L.
Have just looked at the Giant sizing guide and according to that I am definitly a M/L so I also belive I have been decieved and misold
Cheers Andy

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Should not be a problem IMO. Its the same bike so they could just swap the wheels over if they do not like the tyres looking used.

It does not matter what size bike the guy in the shop rides and its not just height anyway.
    He may have short legs and long trunk/arms, but you the opposite.
    Chances are his bike is just too big for him though.

Get it sorted now and don't be fobbed off with fitting a shorter stem :roll:

Sooooo many people get a road bike thats too big for them so don't feel too bad.
    People in bike shops recommend them, and even buy them it may seem.
    Size guides (even manufacturers ones) often recommend them too.

Its a minefield, but at least you will have a much better idea what you want for bike no. 2.