Gears on hills

aaronspeight
aaronspeight Posts: 31
edited July 2014 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I'm still a bit of novice when it comes to cycling but after being on a fair few rides recently I seem to really struggle when a road goes above the 10% gradient mark i just seem to run out of gears, now i admit i'm not the fittest but i still think i should do better, i have a 50/34 chainset - is there a better one to buy??

Thanks
A

Comments

• and my cassette is 12-25
  • fat_cat
    fat_cat Posts: 566
    You could change the cassette on the back to a 12-28 or even a 12-30 which will help.

Above 10% is hard work for most people so it depends how much you are struggling.
  • im not stopping (just) but its just annoying when i think i could be doing better
  • Mikey23
    Mikey23 Posts: 5,306
    34/25 is hard for a relative newcomer at 10%

Did a fair bit of this myself today on cornish roads. I would struggle without my 28
  • fatdaz
    fatdaz Posts: 348
    If you're not stopping and you're not yet planning to do tougher climbs why not stick with your 34-25. It will be easier to get a good cadence with 34-28 or 34-30 and will be easier on your legs but doing those climbs with your 25 will certainly be building stamina in your legs. Mind you, in the interest of full disclosure, I run 34-28
  • dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601
    I cast my vote for getting as big a gear as your rear "D" can handle. Doesn't mean you have to use it, but they do come in very handy every once in a while.
  • dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,222
    Have you waded through this post, lots of useful info:

viewtopic.php?f=40020&t=12583566

However as already suggested the simplest change to make is to swop your 12/25 cassette for a 12/27, 12/28 or 12/30 if your RD has the capacity, and see how you get on.
  • Schoie81
    Schoie81 Posts: 749