New to old 531 - need upgrade advice

sq8r
sq8r Posts: 6
edited July 2014 in Road beginners
I recently bought an old hand built Raleigh from the late 80s. I've used it to start doing longer (for me) rides of up to 30 miles - I'm new to cycling for exercise/pleasure. I'm planning to do longer and more frequent rides. At least while the evenings are long and the weather is fair :)

I'm not entirely happy with my brakes, they are Weinmann side pulls. I'm quite heavy and braking needs quite a bit of advanced planning. I have new brake pads but think I may need to upgrade my brakes. Could anyone suggest where to start? The fittings are the recessed alan key type. If I do change my brakes do I need to change the levers or not?

With this in mind, how about new wheels? My wheels seems quite heavy and neither are totally true. Is it worth trying to source some replacements?

Finally, the group set and chain are pretty old and gunky. Is it worth stripping this down and cleaning everything? My previous experience of doing this is that things never run as smoothly after I've touched them! Maybe I should stick a new chain on and leave it at that. Any links to guides on this kind of work?

Thanks in advance for any help, suggestions or snarky comments ;)

BTW, I bought the retro bike just because I wanted to get started and I didn't know what on earth to buy. I also didn't want to splash out on an expensive new bike to find it just stayed in the shed.

Comments

• HebdenBiker
    HebdenBiker Posts: 787
    Welcome to the world of vintage steel.

Upgrading to modern dual-pivot brakes wouldn't be a bad idea if you're experiencing poor braking performance. Look at the modern Shimano range and decide how much you want to spend. Tiagra would be fine if you're on a budget.

I don't believe there's a mechanical reason why you'd have to change the levers. IIRC the pull ratio is the same. Replace the calipers and see if you get better performance. If not, replace the levers.