Navigation?

TinyMac
TinyMac Posts: 19
edited July 2014 in Road beginners
I'm new to road cycling, and geography has never been my strong point, I live in a fairly rural area where every turn looks the same, more fields etc!

I look at Strava at home, plan a route in my head, then completely forget it when I'm out. Is there a way I can use strava like a Satnav if I buy some sort of bar mount for my iPhone? Or do I need to buy a separate bit of kit? Is there such a thing as satnav for bikes or do I just need to concentrate more? I think if I had a set route I'd more likely stick to it rather than choosing turn by turn based on how busy things look, whether I can be bothered to unclip or not and how hilly a certain direction looks!

Comments

• craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    In the olden days we used to get by with maps...

Lots of software for your phone and bar mount options and dedicated hardware. Especially in your own back yard just have an explore, start building up the mileage and learn to find your way home.
  • simona75
    simona75 Posts: 336
    I have lived in a few rural areas in the past few years and it can be easy to get lost if you don't know your way. I find it helps if you get to know one particular loop or route. Then add different strands to it over time, you will soon build up a big "database" of routes in your head.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,128
    if it's unknown territory i either carry a map or make route notes on a bit of paper and stick it on the top tube or in back pocket (use pencil or waterproof ink!)

getting lost can be fun, you find new roads and unless you're in the deep sticks there'll usually be someone to point you in the right direction

if you carry a smartphone you can always use it as a bail-out method of finding out how to get back onto the route or find the best way home